# **Zimbabwe Election Support Network**



## **CONSTITUENCY PROFILE**

### Luveve Constituency



#### **1.0 Introduction**

Bulawayo Province has 29 wards, 12 House of Assembly and six senatorial constituencies. Luveve constituency was hived off the old Pumula-Luveve constituency. It comprises of areas such as Jairos Jiri Centre, Bonisa, Enqamali, Luveve Stadium and Luveve Native Village. The constituency comprises of Luveve 5, Old Luveve and Gwabalanda suburbs. Ward 15, 16 and 28 of Bulawayo Municipality make up the constituency.

In the 2013 July harmonised elections, the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) allocated the province 392 polling stations.

#### **1.1 Population Demographics**

According to the ZimStat Census Report of 2012, the total population of the province was 653 337 in 2012 with 303 346 males and 349 991 females. Males constituted 46 percent and females 54 percent of the total population. The population in Bulawayo like in Matabeleland North is generally young since the sizeable proportion of the population belongs to the younger age group (ZimStat report 2012). The number of females generally exceeds that of males for those ages 35-39 and 70-74.

The composition of population by age group and sex is as follows: the 0–4 and 20-24 years age groups have the highest proportion of the population each (13 and 12 percent respectively) while the oldest age group (75 years and above) have the least proportion (about 1%). It can further be observed that the proportion of the young population that is those aged less than 15 years was 34% while that of the old population age 65 years and above was about 3%.

#### **1.2 Previous Election Results**

The constituency has been an MDC T stronghold since 2000. In both 2008 and 2013, the Luveve constituency was won by Reggie Moyo of the MDC T. In 2008 the contest between MDC formations was close, with MDC T candidate winning by 147. In 2013 the vote of the MDC T doubled and ZANU PF votes increased by 1 938 in 2013, from 940 in 2008.

	Candidate	Political party	Number of votes	Winning candidate
2013	Dube Calistus	ZAPU	413	
2013	Mabaleka Israel	MDC	2,348	
2013	Mhlanga Nicholas	ZANU PF	2,878	
2013	Moyo Reggie	MDC-T	6,985	Moyo Reggie
2013	Mujuru Kidwell	Independent	681	
2013	Dube Clifford	AKE1	53	
2008	Mdlongwa Esaph	MDC	3,178	
2008	Moyo Getrude	ZANU PF	940	
2008	Moyo Reggie	MDC-T	3,325	Moyo Reggie
2008	Mijuru Kidwell	Independent	697	
2008	Phiri Simba	FDU <sup>2</sup>	146	

The table below indicates the summary of the results from the 2013 and 2008 harmonised elections.

Source: <u>www.zec.org.zw</u>

#### **1.3 Background to the by-election**

Luveve constituency by-election will be held on the 10<sup>th</sup> of June 2015. The seat fell vacant after the Member of Parliament Reggie Moyo was expelled from the MDC T and subsequently recalled from Parliament after joining the United Movement for Democratic Change (UMDC). According to the Constitution of Zimbabwe, Section 129 (1) (k) the seat of a Member of Parliament becomes vacant if the member ceases to belong to the political party of which he or she was a member when elected to Parliament. In accordance with the Electoral Act, Section 39 (2) the President proclaimed the date of the by-election as 10 June and 16 April 2015 as the date for nomination court held at Court 5 at Tredgold Building in Bulawayo.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> AKE - Alliance Kumbul'Ekhaya

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> FDU- Federal Democratic Union

A Constituency Profile of Luveve Compiled by Zimbabwe Election Support Network ©2015

#### **1.4 Nomination and Contesting Parties**

The nomination court was held on Thursday 16 April 2015 at the Tredgold Building in Bulawayo (Court 5).

CANDIDATE	PARTY	
Ntuli Organ	NCA	
Nyamambi Aaron Dube	ZAPU	
Tshuma Fannuel	TRANSFORM ZIMBABWE	
Mlilo Ntombiyenkosi	ZANU PF	
Sibanda Thembelihle	INDEPENDENT	
Nyathi Mkhululi	INDEPENDENT	
Dube Willas	INDEPENDENT	

Below is the list of candidates who managed to go through the nomination court.

The Luveve by-election will be contested by representatives from four political parties and three independent candidates.

#### 1.5 Voter Registration and Registered Voters'

Voter registration is an essential and indisputable exercise. It is the prerequisite to any election in a democratic society and the ability to exercise the democratic right to vote is premised on the existence of a comprehensive, credible, complete, current, accurate, inclusive and dependable voter's roll, irrespective of the electoral system applied. Voter registration for the nomination court has been running from the 9<sup>th</sup> to the 15 April 2015 to enable the candidates to register and/or make necessary transfers in preparation for the nomination court and from the 22nd to the 28<sup>th</sup> of April 2015. Ten registration centres were established for the registration exercise.

According to the ZEC 2013 Harmonised election report, there were 6 441 157 registered voters in the national register. Bulawayo province had a total of 320 598 registered voters in 2013, up from 313 459 in 2008. In terms of the registration statistics Bulawayo is one of the provinces with the least number of registered voters

nationwide. According to the ZEC delimitation report the constituency had 24 710 registered voters in 2008. In 2013<sup>3</sup> the Constituency had 24 846 registered voters.

#### **1.6 Conclusion**

In conclusion ZESN urges all contesting candidates and their parties in the by election to observe peace and tolerate divergent views. ZESN also calls upon the government to conclude the alignment of Electoral provisions to the Constitution, in particular voter registration.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Voters' roll was obtained on 19 June 2013

A Constituency Profile of Luveve Compiled by Zimbabwe Election Support Network ©2015