Preliminary Statement on the Tsholotsho Rural District Council Wards 16 and 20, and Wedza Rural District Council Ward 4 Local Authority By-elections

10 November 2019 – The Zimbabwe Election Support Network (ZESN) deployed static observers to track electoral developments in the three local authority by-elections conducted by the Zimbabwe Electoral Commission (ZEC) on 9 November 2019. The Tsholotsho by-elections were conducted following the expulsion of former ZANU-PF Councillors, Ngwenya Patrick Hlakaza for Ward 16 and Gideon Ndlovu for Ward 20, accused of embezzling Communal Areas Management Programme for Indigenous Resources (CAMPFIRE) funds. The Wedza RDC Ward 4 seat fell vacant following the death of former ZANU-PF Councillor, Alderman Samson Makamba. Two parties, ZANU-PF and the MDC Alliance fielded candidates that contested in all the three by-elections…more